Events

SCI hosts events to bring together groups from the solar cooking community and to promote solar cooking to wider audiences.

CONSOLFOOD 2016-International Conference on Advances in Solar Thermal Food Processing

CONSOLFOOD-2016 will be held on January 22-23 2016 at Instituto Superior de Engenharia, Universidade do Algarve, Campus da Penha, 8005-139 Faro-Portugal. For more information and to register, click here or contact Prof. Celestino Ruivo at cruivo@ualg.pt

 
 

Webinars

Engaging Students in Cross-Curricular Solar Cooker Lessons

Want to know how to inspire and educate the next generation of solar cookers?  Expert science teacher Mary Buchenic will explain how solar cooking can be taught across disciplines and to meet curriculum standards.  Learn how to teach 1500 children and their families about solar cooking, just like Mary has done.

Wednesday, February 3rd 3 pm GMT (11 am EST, 8 am PST)

Click here to register.

 

 

A Five Sun Rating for Solar Cookers?  Testing for Consumer Certification

August 26, 2015

An academic team from California Polytechnic University, San Luis Obispo, California, USA, presented their research responding to the solar cooking sector’s request for a consumer certification for solar cookers identified at the 5th SCI Convention 2014. Findings on business model, methodologies, intra- and inter-sector collaboration, and input from the SCI Regional Convention (North America) 2015 were discussed.

Webinar recordings are available for free to SCI Associates. Click here to login as a SCI Associate and view.

Join the SCI Association.png

Non-Associates may purchase one-time access to webinar recordings for US $15 below; click here to learn more about SCI Association benefits.

Payment accepted by PayPal. No account is required. On the following screen, select "Pay with a debit or credit card."

John solar cookers.jpg